Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

unsurewhattodo
New Contributor

Not sure how to help

Hi,

Im new to all this but I am seeking some support. My partner suffers from servere episodes of deep depression frustration and gets angry at the world.

These days never last too long and he will generally go back to his fun loving self however when he is down he is really down and it is very scary. I have tried on several occassions to bring up the subject of help but he does not think he needs it. So the only thing left foe me to do is try and understand what he is going through and try to help. I have recieved help for depression before myself but I have not been at the point he gets to.

He will drink excessively at least once or twice a month to the point he could be drinking solid for 24hrs straight then just pass out. He tends to like to go for drives after drinking which makes me worry heaps.

He does say some horrible things while under the influence not abusive more like "why would I want to stay with him I might as well pack up my things and just leave" then he will have no idea the next day of anything he has said or done.

He has threaten to take his life once before which was very frightening for everyone involved so I am worried he may want to hurt himself again promting me to a little over protective.

I love him dearly and can not imagine life without him when he is not down he is truely an amazing person that would do anything for anyone he just does not see it himself. He is not violent or abusive towards me.

Im not sure how to help him since he will not get help and it is starting to stress me out too.

Any help??

4 REPLIES 4
Former-Member
Not applicable