Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Social Spaces

beccyd
New Contributor

DUI. Obviously feel like a piece of poo. Just seeing if anyone else in a similar situation.

Hi all. Completely absolutely realise that there will possibly and most likely be judgement with this post.

I recently went through a booze bus, believing I was under the limit but I wasn’t. With the new drink driving laws and as I had a prior when I was 20 (I’m now 30). A month ago I lost my license. I’m still waiting on a court date to see what my fate is with that. I’ve got a 9 year old daughter. I work as a disability support worker and have lost half my hours because I can’t drive my clients to and from.

I am not looking for sympathy. I’m just wondering if there is anyone else in a similar circumstance and how you are doing?

Thanks so much in advance and I apologise if I’ve offended anyone as I know it’s a completely huge mess up that I’ve done and many people and families have been effected by drunk drivers.

Thanks again.
7 REPLIES 7

Re: DUI. Obviously feel like a piece of poo. Just seeing if anyone else in a similar situation.

@beccyd Hi beccyd firstly I am not going to judge you I am far from perfect to judge anyone. As I dont drink anymore due to my medication I am not in the same position as you. I will say this however when I did drink I never drove afterwards I made sure that I didnt. Grab a cab or an uber get a friend to drive you or simply dont drink. There is no excuse and you know that which is why I am not going to judge you as you are doing a good job of it yourself.

Re: DUI. Obviously feel like a piece of poo. Just seeing if anyone else in a similar situation.

Hi @beccyd