Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Molly22
Senior Contributor

Opinions wanted....

Bee.jpg

The other day I had an image I had taken removed from a post due to it containing my watermark logo.  I am a professional photographer and I actually gave up posting my work to any form of social media due to it being used without permission too many times.  Since this is my only form of income, you can understand my desire to protect my intellectual property.  Every image I have uploaded here so far has contained my logo, however this time I didn't do a good job of discreetly hiding it, and so it got removed.

Since then I have been working with the moderators to come up with a solution that will allow me to share, what is such a huge and important part of my life, and still honour the guidelines of the forum.  I suggested that I could screenshot my work directly from one of my outlets, being iStock, and since it is plastered with the iStock logo, the chances of anyone using it without permission are greatly reduced.  

I personally find it an ugly way to share my work.  The iStock logo's plastered all over it can make it hard to appreciate the actual subject matter.  And so I ask for your honest opinion.  Is it still worth me sharing in this way?  Photography is not only what I do, but who I am, and I can't imagine being here without sharing from time to time.  Please let me know what you think.

15 REPLIES 15

Re: Opinions wanted....

Hey there @Molly22, it's not the best solution with all those watermarks is it 😞 Bear with us while we work to find a solution. I personally love your photography and understand it's such a big part of you.

Rhye ✌️