Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Astrid1
Casual Contributor

Accepting myself with Boarderline Personality Disorder.

How do you cope with shame?

I've been fighting this losing battle for 40 years and I'm exhausted.

I've made peace with my family, especially my mother.

I've even made peace with the terrible trauma that occured when I was 12 yrs old.

But I cant make peace with myself, this constant feeling of shame follows me everywhere. Its like part of my shadow is trying to consume me.

I feel shame for being me, unable to cope with stress, work, relationships with men. I seem to fail at everything I do because I cant regulate my emotions. I just expect failure and I truely dont believe that good things will ever happen for me.

11 REPLIES 11

Re: Accepting myself with Boarderline Personality Disorder.

Hi Astrid,

it's so weird to read your post today, just hours after I've been formally diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder and within minutes of finding this forum.

i don't have any answers for you, but I can relate. It's horrible, and very painful. *hugs*

Hi @Astrid1
I hear you and I understand. Making peace with your family is fantastic. Good on you. But I understand how difficult it is to make peace with yourself. I'm in the same boat. Are you doing any therapy?

It has taken a long time for me to make peace with myself. I am still not totally comfortable in my skin but working on it.

Take care

Hello Astrid,

You have been fighting a battle for 40 years and haven't given up - that takes strength - feel proud of yourself

You have made peace with your family, especially your mother - that takes integrity  - feel proud of who you are