Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Jesse9494
New Contributor

Obsessive thoughts about an ex yet I’m in a new relationship

Hey Guys so I’m pretty new to this but defiantly time to have a crack. So essentially 2 years ago me and my now ex decided to have a break to work on ourselves and then planned to get back together. However after months of no contact I messaged my ex and she said that she didn’t see us being together and essentially that was our last contact. It left me shattered but I now understand it was for the better and I have nothing but respect for her. I now have a girlfriend who is honestly the best thing to have ever happened to me but for some reason I still have obsessive thoughts about my ex. I have been diagnosed with bipolar and depression and possible OCD but from the research I have done I think it may be OBSESSIVE LOVE DISORDER OR RELATIONSHIP OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE DISORDER. I tried to talk to someone about this previously but was told how terrible it was that I had these thoughts and that i was a terrible boyfriend. I love my girlfriend more than words can describe and have nothing but respect for my ex but For some reason In times of stress I think about my ex and even though I love my current partner and know she is what’s best for me I still think about my ex constantly. I understand it’s a horrible situation and I was just wondering if anyone else has experienced anything similar and if so had any ideas on treatment, medications, tecniques etc to stop having these thoughts. I would not post on here unless completely necessary but it is come to a point where I feel guilty and sad all the time and feel terrible for my current girlfriend.