Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Safari
Casual Contributor

New

Hi All,

I am new to the page and believe I am a victim of emotional abuse. My work colleague, and so called mate, is a master manipulator. He used gaslighting techniques to create an awkward situation between a junior colleague (he was also a mate) and the two of us a year ago after we had drinks in the city one weekend. I was on a more senior level compared to the two of them at work. He then used  psychological/emotional abuse to completely exclude me from the work social group  while still maintaining to be by mate. We started arguing every week and it made me look unstable. He stayed friends with both me and the other guy and told me he will smooth stuff out that way. I was always advised not to go and speak to the junior colleague or HR at work. I still successfully manage to push for a new postion to be created at work for him and end up working on Christmas so that he could get off. Once he had his promotion my mental health went downhill from there. The junior colleague resigned and told the GM he resigned because of me but wont answer any questions if there is an investigation. I kept my sexual orientation a secret at work with a few people (both the junior and the manipulator knew as I told them on previous social outings). The rumour mill went crazy, my secret sexual orientation did not help the cause when that became knowledge? I stayed for another two months and then I resigned. I told my supervisor when I resigned that I did not get a fair investigation. The way he resigned and not wanting to answer any investigation questions meant I did not get a proper investigation or chance to clear my nam