Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

ToothlessT
Casual Contributor

New at this

Hi all,

I am a 34 male, married with 3 kids. I am also a recovering alcholic/addict. Just over a year since I got sober and reunited with my family. 

I'm kind of new to the idea of sharing my thoughts and feelings with others. 

A long story short - I've been depressed for as long as i remember - say 10 or 11 years of age. Always had trouble sleeping, plagued by nightmares and anxiety dreams. 

Once I got sober, I hoped the depression would ease, however without my preferred coping mechanisms it just got worse. I have been taking antidepressants for almost 1 year now and still struggling to cope with day to day life.

I am thinking of changing meds again but am not sure if anything is going to help. Ive tried psyche and aa and talking doesnt seem to help me. Also a diagnosis of mild aspergers and add. 

Where do i go from here ...

11 REPLIES 11

Re: New at this

Welcome to the Forums @ToothlessT 🙂 

I'm periwinklepixie, one of SANE's Peer Support Workers and Moderators.

For someone who is new to sharing their story, you certainly paint a picture of your resillience and hard work to overcome your substance use. 

I know at times I have felt like nothing is working but then suddenly something clicks. I hope the Forums might help you find some inspiration.