Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Blackteeth
Casual Contributor

Chronic alcohol withdrawal

hi everyone, I stumbled across this site trying to find information or like minded people who have experienced chronic alcohol withdrawal. I have been drinking around 20 beers a day, everyday for the past 9 years. I recently decided that I’ve had enough and it’s time for the booze to go. It’s been 3 days. Im still having about 3-4 light beers a day with diazepam but it’s not really doing anything ive been somewhat hallucinating, seeing little bugs that aren’t there, permanent pain in my ankles and legs, still sore after 3 days. Hot and cold sweats every minute at least, panic attacks, struggling to sleep longer than about 30 minutes. Has anyone experienced similar and did they suffer any long term side effects? I’m scared I might be a candidate for  sudden death. Cheers guys hope your all doing well! 

17 REPLIES 17

Re: Chronic alcohol withdrawal

Oh gosh, @Blackteeth ! I would be seeing a doctor as soon as possible!

Welcome, by the way...it's good to have you here. 

A handy forum tip is if you type @ and click on a name in the drop-down box, that person will get a notification and won't miss your reply. 

Good luck with the alcohol withdrawal...

Hi @Blackteeth i would strongly suggest talking to a GP as it is dangerous just to stop drinking cold turkey...i know you are saying you are having light beer and diazepam but this may not be enough...There is Nurse on Call in Victoria 1300 60 60 24 or Healthdirect 1800 580 771 ... in other states if you want medical advice, or call 000 if you are needing urgent help. We are not medically trained to give advice. 

kind regards