Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Razza
Casual Contributor

Time to accept defeat again!

It's been a bad month, bad thoughts are happening again which isn't good. I used to be able to identify the trigger and either substitute or eliminate through coping mechanisms! I have been working first job for like 14 months now since I was diagnosed with severe depression and anxiety. Being stubborn I went off my meds slowly and accepted the challenge ahead hoping in the back of my mind my illness is just a one off thing I get better and live happily ever after. Wasn't I mistaken! My thoughts are coming back twice three times a day now and it's hard not slipping into the zone out stage again where I lose control of my mind. So,sadly I've accepted defeat and seeking help again through my gp and being referred to be on a mental health plan again:( and back on meds! It breaks my heart having no control! All I want to do is be normal again! 

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Time to accept defeat again!

Hi @Razza

I can hear the sound of defeat in your post. It can totally feel disappointing going back on meds, but please don't take this a though you've failed. It's ok - even 'normal' - to have a lapse. It's more often than not a sign pointing to something that can be worked on and improved. Use this as teacher that can teach you about what you might do different next time. What would change if you were to try and take yourself off meds agai?

I always think of recovery as like a jigsaw puzzle, it can take time to find the right pieces, which can involve times of fiddling around with pieces that don't work. 

CherryBomb