Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Awkward_Turtle1
Casual Contributor

Finding my place in the world

Hi all. I am new and have never posted in a forum before. I am a young adult with ADHD inattentive type and significant anxiety and depression. I have had regular psychology and psychiatrist input for a few years now and feel I have a good medication plan, yet adulthood continues to be gruelling. 

Throughout my life I have always felt behind my peers and slow to learn or that I always need to put in excessive effort to keep afloat. I am an allied health professional but continue to struggle to keep up with work expectations and fear the stigma within the industry. I also have a lot of challenges managing basic life skills to maintain the home with my partner (e.g. cooking, cleaning, laundry). I have friends but still seem to have trouble maintaining deep connections and feel like I don’t truely belong. 

After years of masking and overcompensating to try to meet societal expectations, strong burnout has occurred. I am planning to explore a cognitive/adaptive behaviour assessment to help figure out new approaches I can try for recover; however, feel very lost and defeated at the moment.

I wanted to reach out to see if anyone else has had relatable experiences and could offer things that have helped them to remain hopeful in navigating adulthood. 

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Finding my place in the world

Hey @Awkward_Turtle1 (love the name)