Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Former-Member
Not applicable

Family.

I have my final exam tomorrow.

Every time I go out to the library to study, my family loses their minds. They are convinced I am not going out to study, they think I am just going out to waste time and read fiction books.

Because there's no proof one way or another, they won't let me leave the house. EVERY single semester. They'll literally get in front of me and block the door. My sister wouldn't let me leave the house AT ALL last semester, even to get coffee or get a new notebook. 

I don't really know how I'm supposed to prove that I AM studying. I should stick a live security camera to my head or something. 

They say "what is there at the library that isn't at home?"

• Firstly, at home, I have to study on the dining table, which isn't ideal.
  • Secondly, at the library, I don't have to worry about being interrupted to do things around the house, or having to take my stuff off the table when lunch is ready.
  • Thirdly, you can say that about anything. Why would you go shopping? You can buy everything you need online. Why would you ever leave the house, then?
  • Finally, I DON'T [...] WANT TO. That should be enough. I shouldn't have to mount an argument to justify everything I do.

All three professionals I have seen have been adamant that I should talk to my family about my Depression. They are genuinely surprised that I don't.

This is the kind of [...] you run into. Excuse me for not trusting them.

Sure, they only do it because they want me to pass and they want to make sure I'm studying, but that is a pathetic excuse.

6 REPLIES 6
GreenTree
Casual Contributor

Re: Family.

@Former-Member