Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Sasanqua
Casual Contributor

Burnt out and anxious

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting. I am a teacher and I have a psychosocial disability (I have several mental health diagnoses). I've experienced burn out before in my job, in 2016 and again last year. Holidays are finishing tomorrow, and I go back to school on Tuesday, but I feel absolutely sick when I think about going back. I'm scared I'm burnt out again less than a year after the last time. I don't know what to do, and I don't know how I'll get out of bed on Tuesday. I am just completely overwhelmed. 

13 REPLIES 13

Re: Burnt out and anxious

Hi @Sasanqua ,

We have a number of teachers on the forums, and I'm sure they are/or have felt what you are currently feeling.

Many teachers experience burnout within the first 5 years of their career. It is important to pace yourself and realise that you can only do what you can do. For some states, it's agreed 38+2 hours (full time), and no more. If the work cannot be done in this time, then release will be arrange of other supports.

Boundaries are so important for teachers. Teachers have lives too! Holiday periods are the only holidays teachers get - hence make the most of it, rather than worry about what needs doing. Some things teachers have done is set strict home and school boundaries. Laptop does not go home, even if it means arriving at school a little earlier or staying a little later to get the work done. 

Another thing, turn off school notifications on your personal phone. After 5pm is your time. You are not indebted to your job. The day you 'burn out', they will replace you with another teacher.