Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Social Spaces

Pollyotter
Senior Contributor

Stigma... Taboo...Fake... In Your head...

We all have had our own interesting backgrounds and events that bought us here. Some folks know me and others do not know me witch is fine . 

Something that I found interesting is how in today's work there are still people who like to say things like " your faking " " its nothing " or the one that gets my blood boiling " get over it" 

I just left a counseling session where I was told that disassociation is fake... I am not really experiencing it . Let me just add that I am studying counseling myself with a special interest in Trauma counseling as well... 

I am not all-knowing but I am not someone who googled disassociation and walked around with it. 

I want to invite anyone who has had something similar happen to them to please feel free to share it here. 

13 REPLIES 13

Re: Stigma... Taboo...Fake... In Your head...

I'm really sorry that happened to you. I spend my life dis-associated. It's my coping mechanism. I wish I could figure out how to stop doing it because then maybe I could get better and make something of myself.

@Pollyotter that’s rough coming from a counsellor in particular. Sorry that was your experience today.

i do find people that haven’t walked this walk, or had someone very close to them walk, or people who are specifically trained in mental health field to be insensitive and really have no clue. I spent a fair bit of time in the past in the ED, before my local hospital built a specific mental health ED unit. I found the regular ED nurses so rude, I always felt judged. 

I still remember a nurse telling me to go bounce a ball and be happy.