Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

-Rayne-
Senior Contributor

work stress

I haven't been on these forums in a long time. About 18 months ago I got a new and really intense job - long hours, very stressful - and that absorbed me. I was diagnosed with DID a while ago but I figured it was a mistake because all my symptoms disappeared. I had been drinking heavily for about 4 years before I got the job but it got really out of control in that job. I decided to go to rehab for alcohol addiction in December.

About a week and a half after I detoxed, my PTSD and dissociation went nuts, like really bad. I thought that I was over all that but it turns out that it was just covered by the alcohol. So now I'm trying to work out what to do. Looking at the options of going back to rehab for an extended time versus dealing with all this out here is complicated enough but I've also found that I'm unable to do my job anymore. The thought of it makes me panic. I'm on sick leave currently but have to log onto my computer and do a few things and when I do, or even when I think about doing it, my anxiety goes through the roof. It's like suddenly I can't handle any stress at all. I really can't see how I can go back to the job.