Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Hurting2311
Casual Contributor

Worried about my daughter

Hi all I'm new to this but am extremely worried about my 18 yo daughter who decided about 2 months ago that she doesn't really need to eat as she's never hungry! I try and make her favorite foods but this is not helping. Her mind set is that she's fine she's already underweight and is wanting to lose a considerable amount more. What can I do??
6 REPLIES 6

Re: Worried about my daughter

Hi @Hurting2311,
I can imagine how worried you must be, I am a Mum as well and at 18, it’s a time when you want your kids to be increasing independent as they step out into the world.
I feel the most important thing is to keep a loving form of communication going with your daughter. Tell her honestly how concerned you are and encourage her to attend a GP appointment as soon as possible.
There are many on here who have more experience with Eating disorders
@Faith-and-Hope so I’ve tagged at least one
And the @Former-Member.
I hope you will gain some support, suggestions and courage to deal with your daughter’s illness.
❤️

Thanks for tagging me @Catcakes ..... 💕

Hi @Hurting2311.  I am so glad you have found us here at the forums, because apart from anything else, you are going to need support to get through this.

I would suggest, while this is still in its relatively early stages, that you try to make a deal with your daughter ..... that you will be accepting and supportive of her decision if she clears it with a dietician first, and ask to attend along with her so you are all on the same page.