Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Phoenix82
Contributor

Workplace prejudice, society prejudice

Hi,

I am new to this. I just posted in another forum about workplace prejudice.

I had a major depressive episode a year and a half ago which involved multiple stays in hospital and a suicide attempt. I decided that since I had so much time off work and because work had remained supportive of me that I would be honest about why I was on leave.

When I left hospital and began growing stronger I felt very strongly about breaking down the stigma and was under the impression I was doing a good thing, bringing it out in the open.

In the last few months I have relapsed, every day is a horrible horrible struggle. But I push on, I keep in regular contact with my psychiatrist, psychologist and gp who have been wonderful. I approached work about it as one of the bosses said he was concerned about me. I thought I was good at hiding my struggles, but he being a sufferer of bipolar saw through it. Thinking I was doing the right thing and speaking to someone who would understand I spoke to him about treatment my doctors were suggesting, about taking every second Friday off to have ect.

I didn't anticipate his response. He did a backflip and was more concerned about me taking too much leave, letting down other people and not getting my work completed (I'm not sure where that came from because I've been getting all my work done on time even doing over time dispite what I am going through).