Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Former-Member
Not applicable

Synaptic Betrayal

I grew up a person of the mind.  I was a brilliant student at university and had a bright future 

ahead of me in the law. Then I fell victim to Schizoaffective disorder and lost my ability to attend law school.  it felt like a synaptic betrayal of the first order because my own cells were attacking my future.  My mind which was my greatest prize was falling apart and I had absolutely nothing to say about it.  Coping with the antipsychotic meds and the new normal of paranoia and social awkwardness seemed more than I could bare.  Does anyone else here feel like their synapses betrayed them right when life started getting good and if so, how did you cope and make it back to some version of good? 

9 REPLIES 9

Re: Synaptic Betrayal

Hey there @Former-Member. I have schizoaffective disorder too and in the prime of my life, I also suffered a synaptic betrayal. I had a successful career and a home that was to be proud of. It hit me hard and I lost everything. I was forced to resign from a job I loved, I lost my home and all my possessions and wound up homeless. It is interesting as you refer it to as the term 'synaptic betrayal' because it describes what happens so well. I was at first diagnosed with deep depression, then one evening it was like my brain just locked onto this faulty signal and bam! That was my psychotic episode. I remember it so well. It breaks my heart sometimes thinking about what I've lost in the process... family, friends, my sanity. I was always thought of as a logical thinker and suddenly I was caught up in the irrational... only at the time it made perfect sense.