Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Louise
Community Elder

Son with Bipolar

Hi everyone, this is my first time here. I am feeling a bit lost and vulnerable. My son spent his 17th birthday in hospital with psychosis. Now 6 weeks later he's been diagnosed with Bipolar, though they have not ruled out schizophrenia. Both psychotic episodes were acute and full-on. Now he's been on meds for a week, is going really well but has already put on weight, feels lazy and wants to come off the meds. He is sure he doesn't need them and can avoid becoming psychotic again if I point out symptoms such as word-salad or grandiosity which indicate he's heading in that direction. I'm frightened that he would become psychotic again. My main fears are that 1.psychosis could cause long-term damage and that 2. he might not recover as well as he has these last 2 times. Also, if I let him come off the meds, I might get in trouble from my ex, who thinks he needs them, not to mention the psychiatrists. I feel as though I am between a rock and a hard place.

8 REPLIES 8

Re: Son with Bipolar

Hi @Louise 

Welcome to the Forums. I'm glad you found us 🙂

It's so sad that your son had to spend his 17th birthday in hospital. The timing sucks. What is good though is that he is in a place that can help him. I have lost count of the amount of carers in here who are stressed out because they can't get their loved one admitted to hospital to get the help they need.

Diagnosis and getting medication right can be a long road. However, while the dignosis may not be confirmed yet, it sounds like he's found meds that work! That's huge!