Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Birdgirl1802
Casual Contributor

Psychosis

Hi All,

I am new to this but would like to share some of my experiences with psychosis.

One of my adult children is suffering with psychosis. At first I think it started from drug related sleep deprivation about ten years ago and would happen after he had been awake for a long time. 

He would have a panic attack which then got worse. He would then be in his own world, like a character in a movie. It has gotten progressively worse over the years and is now not from drugs and can happen anytime. It is now affecting his whole life. 

At the start of the episodes he can tell it's going to happen and be his normal self. Then things start to change. 

He is never trying to harm me or himself, but in his episodes he has believed he is law enforcement and has tried to arrest me or detain me under such and such drug act of whatever year. A lot of times there is a common theme to the psychosis.

Sometimes law enforcement, sometimes confessing certain things and wanting to repent, apologise or be punished somehow. Never violent or self harmful, but always with an inner voice controlling the narrative and or script of his character at the time. 

After a while it will pass and he will be normal and know that it has happened. Sometimes it ends in a stay in the public mental health ward or sometimes I can ride out the episode and then discuss it with him. 

His episodes often involve a voice in his head that he believes is telling him what to do and say. The psychosis voice often threatens him not to talk about it to health professionals and tells him that there will be negative consequences.