Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

AMBERLK
Contributor

Mental health

Hi everyone.  Im new to this . I have battled mental health for my whole life , I am 45 ! I have recently gotten tired if you know what I mean and joined private insurance to get me into private care but I have to wait the 2 month waiting period b4 i can go in. This is proving to be so very difficult.  Im trying to hold down a job which is beyond hard . I have 2 beautiful kids and a amazing partner who save my life . You know they keep me here. My mind feels like a freight train that dosnt stop and a cloud of darkness that the sun dosnt visit much anymore.  Ive lost me and im scared. Any advice will be lovely.  Hugs and kisses to my warriors 

20 REPLIES 20

Re: Mental health

That is a hard place to be @AMBERLK but unfortunately a lot of us here know that place so well. You have support around you at home and it is that little bit of hope right now that is invaluable. 2 months is a long time to wait when that darkness descends so I am wondering if you have a psychologist/pdoc/counsellor that you can also talk to while you wait. 

I find having a routine and things to do keep me going help. Work is a massive plus but I also love my job so that part is easy. It is the times I am on my own with my own thoughts that life can get more difficult - thankfully I have this community to help in those times and you now have us also.

Welcome to the forum Heart