Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Grace93
Casual Contributor

Joining the 'Mainstream'

Hi Everyone,

I'm new here and have been looking for work for the past 6 months. 
I've just turned 26 and I have limited work experience due to a period of severe mental illness in my late teens/early 20's. I used to have a job at Woolworths and Coffee Club, but had to quit (not really a hard decision seeing as I HATED it) as I became so severely anxious that I couldn't leave my own home. I became paranoid that people were putting poison in my food and lost a considerable amount of weight. 

I've spent the last few years in therapy and on medication and am now well enough to attend university. In fact, I'm about a few months away from graduating with a Bachelor of Design with Honours.

Which brings me to my next big issue - finding work.

I've had a few interviews but no job offer so far, and the more jobs I apply for, the less confident I feel about securing work. I'm pretty self-confident (maybe even a bit arrogant), I know what I'm good at, what I need to work on and where my limits are. I'm trustworthy, honest and caring. However, I'm not ashamed to bring up my past mental health issues with employers. I want to be honest, but at the same time, I feel employers will see my lack of experience and mental health history as a red flag. The last thing I want is to be hired under the assumption that I will always put in 100% and be treated as another cog in the machine, when that is just not the case. I know I can be a good employee, but only under the right conditions.

- How do you go about finding work, if you have no experience AND mental health issues?