Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Highlighted

Re: Introduce yourself here

Hi all. I am new to this. My husband since July 2019 but friend of 20+ years is struggling with an episode of either psychosis or mania. He had a 22 years history in the MH sector and his experiences have been extremely negative. He is terrified of seeking help and has serious trust issues. Our story is long so will not go into all of it now. 
three things about me:

I have two amazing adult children - 18 & 21

i love animals - have 5 cats (yes 5) and a giant dog. 
I am a mental health practitioner 😬.  Not feeling like a good one at the moment 😢. 

my husband - who I'll call H - is really unwell and I don't know what to do as I'm afraid I'll breach his trust and I'm the only person he has. I'm exhausted and so incredibly sad. 

Highlighted

Good morning @KEY 

Welcome aboard.

Psychosis/mania/psychotic mania = difficult times and you would likely be well aware of what is likely necessary. 

Does Mr H have any insight? A safety plan in place that you can refer to?

I will tag you in a couple of posts that you might find BV helpful.

Highlighted