Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

AnneGreenGables
Casual Contributor

How do you continue to care?

Hello. This is my first time posting and I'm a little nervous to do so, but I figure it can't hurt. My husband and I have been married for 11 years. We have a daughter, 6. One and done, as the saying goes! As background, I almost died giving birth and suffered PND for about two years. I've been well since. About 3 years ago I noticed my husband, who was my main carer when I was ill, was showing signs of depression. In Dec 2016, after months of me trying to get him to go to the GP, he went and was put on meds. (Factors influencing his depression include PTSD from seeing me almost die, caring for me and not accepting much help, his previous high-stress managment position where he had to make people redundant and, in the past year, his dad's cancer diagnosis and death) To try and cut a very long story short we  have had multiple med changes, referral to community mental health team, psychiatrists x 2 (happy with the second one), psychologist and now he is currently in hospital undergoing his second round of ECT. The first course he responded really well to but it was only 6 sessions, which in hindsight was probably not enough as he had a major crash about a week after coming home. He is halfway through his second course, which will be 12 treatments. It's been a battle every step of the way getting him treatment. It's taken weeks or months of me suggesting/coaxing/pleading/demanding he seek help, despite all we know about depression from my experience. The impact it has had on our lives is huge. He has lost almost all of the clients he had in our business, money is tight, I have st