Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Soulless
Casual Contributor

Finding what works , my ptsd experience

Hi everyone,

This is my first time on a group like this. I've been alone sorting out my ptsd.

I have experienced PTSD 6 years ago in October 2011 after being a victim of crime. A drive by shooting of 20 bullets going through my front window.

I wasnt injured , but I was sleeping in the second room. I was losing my mother to cancer at the same time so I couldn't process what happened. I didn't have support from the police or from friends or family.

I had to try to hide the fact that this happened to me as I wanted to focus on my mother maybe getting better.

At the time, I had to deal with my husbands anxiety of it all.

My whole life I grew up in the street , worked hard to renovate my home. My sense of security went that night.

I was numb and shocked and then I had more onset of PTSD , after 2 months from the incident, I lost my mother and then in 2012 had more family issues which require me to go to court.

I was a walking time bomb.

(My childhood has not been normal, I grew up with a disabled brother and helped be his second caretaker before the support system that is now in place, I was bullied, my brother was physical and verbally abusive to me , my dad was strict and if we didn't comply with household rules, there was consequences . I never had emotional support as a child, grew up in a very religious group that didn't support ones growth and development as they wanted one to devote their time to the church)