Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Eve1
Casual Contributor

Anxiety

Hi, I am new to this. I have been suffering severe anxiety since I had an accident in June. I am seeing a psychologist and am on medication. My doctor did not explain the medication to me and now I find that it is almost impossible to get off. I am so worried as it d oes not seem to be helping me. Every day is endless and filled with anxiety. At the moment I cannot even leave the house. People say I will get better but I am beginning to doubt it.

9 REPLIES 9

Re: Anxiety

Hi @Eve1 🙂 It's nice to 'meet' you and see you here. I live with anxiety also, and find it can be really hard sometimes. I'm sorry to hear it's keeping you from being able to leave the house. That sounds really tough.

Are you able to see you doctor about your medication?

Is there anything you do at home that helps you feel less anxious? I definitely think anxiety can be managed, but it can be very hard to find what works well and be able to use those things across all situations when it might hit. I understand questioning whether it will get better though.

Lots of people here have experience with managing and living with anxiety and I hope others will come along and say hi also. You're also welcome to look around and join in wherever you'd like. If you would like to reply to someone you can put the @ symbol in front of their name and they will be tagged.

Hope to see you around some more 🙂
utopia
Senior Contributor

Hi @Eve1 - I think you may need to make an appointment with your doctor and ask about your medication. It may not be the right dose for you, or the right medication. Trial and error is how we find the medication that works best for us.