Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Lckj
New Contributor

My fiancée and I are struggling at the moment.

Hi everyone,

I new to this forum. My fiancée and I are struggling at the moment. We've been together for a long time now and we have had many ups and downs but mostly downs lately. She has recently been diagnosed with adhd, depression, and possibly borderline personality disorder. I'm a doctor myself and I don't think I even fully understand the diagnoses and how they interact. I have read things online, in my textbooks etc... To try to understand but I am at a loss as to what to do. I'm a surgical trainee and my hours are extremely long. My fiancée J often asks me to take days off and I have done so willingly. As much as I love her and want to care for her... I still need to go to work. My bosses have noticed that I have appeared more tired at work (which is true) and they are also getting tired of me often taking time off as supportive as they have been. I don't have much support as J is really secretive about her diagnoses and also her family seems to be part of the reason why she has developed these condition as explained by her psychiatrist/psychoanalytic consultant. I'm not sure how to proceed? Should I take time off work? It seems like if I take a week off, I'm not sure if it will have any lasting impact on her wellbeing but only a transient one.