Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

anon1
New Contributor

Walking on eggshells

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting in this forum and im looking for some guidence on how to deal with my husband who suffers from depression. I suspect my husband has suffered from depression for many years but was only diagnosed a few years ago. He is incredibly moody, impatient and difficult. I feel like i have no where to go for support. My mum is an alcoholic with depression and anxiety and my father committed suicide some years back. I try to be supportive of my husband but sometimes i feel as if my life revolves around mental illness.
10 REPLIES 10
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: Walking on eggshells

Hi anon1,

Congratulations on having the courage to ask for help.

One of the things I have done which might help you because of your experience with your parents is to see a relationship counselor. Although the counsellor may not be able to help with your partner they may be able to help you understand a good relationship might be like and where yours is out of step with this and once you know this you can problem solve for solutions. If you have never really lived in a house with healthy relationship it is hard to see this on your own I think.

I tried a lot of things before I ended up on the forum here and I have found that this is probably the only place where I have felt really understood. Hope you do too.

cheers

I have felt similarly surrounded by mental health issues @anon1

Is there a Carers organisation in your state? They may be able to help.

Welcome @anon1,