Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

MoomooJo
New Contributor

Daughter with undiagnosed mental illness - BPD??

Hi, this is my first time on a mental illness help site. 

I am a mother of a 21yo daughter.  I have a loving husband, an elder daughter and a younger son.  We have lived a pretty happy life.  Financially stressed but stable, and have provided our children with what we considered a privelidged upbringing, i.e. comfortable homes, pets, good food, access to all childhood sports and groups. 

Our daughter was a very unhappy baby.  From day one she had cholic and was a very perky kid (constantly wore a nappy over my soulder).  She cried often - infact most photo's we have of her as a child up to about 5 she was crying.  When she was content she was a bit cheeky - so pretty & smart. 

When she was in preschool she would mumble and talk so quickly that the other children seemed to not understand her very well.  When she was in primary school she would complain that all the girls in her class were mean to her - she eventually would not go to school.  We changed schools and all was fine while she was the 'new kid', but pretty soon she was unhappy again and complained that everyone was mean to her.  In year 5 she was accepted into a private school so we moved her again.  The same pattern continued thru hight school - she was so unhappy that we moved her yet again - all the time thinking we were doing what was best for her as she was so unhappy.