Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Former-Member
Not applicable

The Elderly and those brain tablets! Discuss.

Hi,

I believe in talking about Mental Health. Even before I was diagnosed, I was so lucky to work for a big organisation that worked with the homeless.I worked as a Personal carer with 20 Aged care men in a Hostel. Most of these men fought for many countries during World War 2., helped build this country. Many had big careers like Judge, Detective, Millitary positions.There was a Halocaust survivor, who still brings a tear to my eyes. Many had come from an era who didn't know what a MI was.So many were affected by war and famine. Jobs were hard to come by and had families to support.Many suffered later on as we know now with PTSD. All nearly turned to alcohol.Many had MI including Schitzophrenia, Bi Polar, PTSD, Depression, OCD, Kleptomania,Anxiety/panic attacks.Many more.There was cancer patients and a cheeky chappy with Parkinson's. I will always remember he was my first shower and I had to shave him as well.I was 17 and absolutely scared as!. I told  him this was my first shave. He looked straight into my eyes. With a shaky voice he said' I think you will do better than me'.And with that, he took the shaver and it shook violently in his hand. I have never laughed so much.! Although they had lost so much in life, and society had shunned them, they could always make me laugh.Best job in the world.

These men blamed no-one. They lost jobs, houses and family. Alcohol was the man's tonic.I always wished they got the help that we can get today. But the elderly today still have trouble getting that help.Generation, poor communication and little support.