Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Kalliades
Contributor

My Story

Hi, I'm not sure what I'm hoping to get out of this, I'm giving it a go because its something I've never tried before and I havent really talked about my issues for a while. 

I'm 27 years old and have been living with depression and anxiety for nearly 15 years. I have the most incredible, supportive family who have always been there for me. When I was younger I told my parents everything and so came to hate myself for all the times I hurt them by telling them I wished I was dead.

So I stopped talking about it. I have always believed that I have these problems because I am weak and why should my weakness cause anyone else to suffer? I swore to myself that I would never self-harm, no matter how much I wanted to. Because that would be the ultimate slap in the face to the people who have tried so hard to help me and that all I'd given in return was pain. 

I would fight my battles alone.

And so about 5 years ago I changed my approach. I isolated myself from the world, pushed away the small group of friends I still had left from high school and tried to focus on just two things. Keeping my job and masking my pain. I didnt have to enjoy life, just get through it.   

I did everything I could to give up hope. I would never have a girlfriend or mates or a career but maybe if I accepted it, then I could live with it. So thats how I've been living. I spend the week at work looking forward to the weekend. Then on Saturday, I look forward to Monday when I can go back to work.

I fooled myself into thinking that this was the brave thing to do. I told myself I was fighting It but all I was really doing was hiding from It.