Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Silenus
Senior Contributor

First Job Application In 2 Years

Hi all. 🙂

For 20-odd years I worked as an electrical engineer and technical writer. The stress and long hours were great for someone like me with bipolar - I could cope very well...

Until I would crash and burn into a major depression, that is...

For 20 years I repeated the same pattern - hypomanic high for about 2 years, then depression for about 6 months, hardly able to leave my darkened bedroom...

Repeat until life gets totally screwed up by a 2 year long depression and failed marriage (which finally led to diagnosis and treatment).

I've hardly worked in 5 years. Perhaps 5 or 6 weeks of technical writing (it's been dead since the global financial crisis) and a couple of months of bar work, pulling beers and making cocktails...

I was on Newstart for a year or so. I have a special hatred for how heartless the Centrelink system can be, how terrible it makes you feel. During that time, I applied for over 200 jobs. I did all in my power, but achieved exactly nothing... only 5 or 6 bothered to even send me an automated rejection email. The rest? A vast deafening silence, so that I never knew if my job applications were good, bad or indifferent. It was brutal...

I had to sell my house. When I converted the bricks and mortar to dollars in the bank, my Centrelink problems went away - no more support, and thankfully no more rubbish of theirs to deal with...

I've been self-funding my unemployment for 2 years now, travelling around Oz in a motorhome with my lovely partner.

But reality awaits. The party (and the money) never lasts forever. The rolling wheels have to stop sometime.