Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Rhumba
Casual Contributor

Confusion

Hi. This is my first time typing a post. I suffer from Major Depression and PTSD. I have suffered with this for 19 years.

What I am confused about is that my grandmother has to go into a nursing home and I want to be able to support my mum through it all but I'm just not sure how to because I'm scared that it is going to affect my depression!

Any advice will be grateful.
3 REPLIES 3
utopia
Senior Contributor

Re: Confusion

Welcome @Rhumba. I like your question. Of course you want to support your mum but at the same time you need to look after your health first.
A few suggestions: (& these depend on your coping abilities at the time)
*Offer to drive your mum to the nursing home (you can stay in car and read or meditate while she visits).
*If your mum has email - send her a message letting her know how much you love her (especially on the days she visits the nursing home)
*Send her some flowers / chocolates or a soft teddy bear (to hug if you ccannot be there)
*Phone her to let her know you are thinking of her.
I'm sure she will know you will help as you able to. & as we with MI know, it's wonderful when someone understands us & we can feel their love.
Some days you may not be able to do anything. Other days you may be able to just listen to her.
Good luck
pip
Senior Contributor