Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

GonePirate
Senior Contributor

A pirates life for me...

where to start? at the beginning? nah too boring start at the end i guess jump to the beginning then periodically return to the end maybe??? sure why not

im 25 and heavily medicated for my bipolar type 1 im not a med zombie i just function luckily alot better than i used to and have a clarity and stability i havnt had for years

i was diagnosed at 20 its been 5 long years since those very dark and stormy days

im still at mercy of the tides of fate but im no longer a slave to them

more often than not i find myself rolling with the punches and not only surviving but coming out on top

i am now studying doing a cert 4 in mental health with a hopes of becoming a peer worker

i also have a 6 year old son who i see fortnightly who is my world

5 years ago i was in limbo as i came out of the longest mania ive ever experienced or heard of and it left me bombed out and depleted my ship was completely scuttled and i was a wasted wreck

i swiftly plunged into the deepest and longest depression i have ever faced doubled up with a nice dose of psychosis towards the end

that is when i sought help

started seeing a councillor then a therapist then a psychologist then a psychiatrist too

for about four years i rode the meddigoround and yeh i was still a slave to the tides of fate the eb and flow controlled me as i would rise and fall like that waves